FANDOM


BODtr BO2topright




Votre vie sera hantée par ce que vous avez perdus. Et alors enfin, vous pourrez comprendre ce que vous m'avez fait subir.
— Raul Menendez


Raul Menendez est un activiste nicaraguayen à la tête d'un cartel familial et d'une organisation internationale nommée "Cordis Die". Il est le principal antagoniste de Call of Duty: Black Ops II et Call of Duty: Strike Team

Il est le chef d'une organisation rebelle nommé Cordis Die et est un vieil ennemi de Alex Mason et Frank Woods, et le principale ennemi de David Mason en 2025. Il a détourné plusieurs centaines de drones militaires appartenant aux États-Unis, et il les a utilisé pour attaquer les grandes villes du pays, ainsi que les villes dans toute la Chine comme Pékin, Shanghai et Hong Kong. Il a éventuellement détruis les drones après son opération. En utilisant les drones, il a paralysé la défense des États-Unis, laissant l'armée américaine vulnérable dans une tentative de déclencher une insurrection dans le monde entier. Il a une grande cicatrice sensible, et des traces de brûlures sur son œil droit.

Raul est apparemment très charismatique et influent à un certain nombre de personnes ; par ses fans, il est surnommé " Le Messie " et dispose d'un nombre important d'abonnés sur youtube et ses vidéos ont été vues des centaines de millions de fois. Selon Harper, «Il est le terroriste le plus dangereux depuis Oussama Ben Laden. Selon Briggs, "Des gens en Amérique l'idolâtrent aussi".


BiographieModifier

DébutModifier

Raul Menendez est né au Nicaragua le 5 Septembre 1963. Selon Javier Salazar, Menendez a passé la première partie de son enfance des années tumultueuses dans son pays pendant la révolution au Nicaraguay. Après le tremblement de terre dévastateur de 1972 au Nicaragua, la famille de Raul a perdu la plupart de tout ce qu'ils avaient, y compris leur maison. Un an après le tremblement de terre, son unique sœur Josefina a été horriblement défiguré dû à un incendie dans un entrepôt, les américains ayant investi les lieux et cherchant le père de Menendez, apparemment un homme très dangereux. Cette tragédie aurait fait de Raul Menendez un "anti-américain", qui est répugné par la société des Etats-Unis et par son fonctionnement capitaliste.


Le Cartel de MenendezModifier

Lorsque Menendez est entré dans ses années d'adolescence, à la fois lui et son père, Jose Luiz Menendez, ont commencé la vente de médicaments pour se faire de l'argent facile. Au fil du temps, ils sont devenus "les légendes de Managua" (village natal des Menendez) et sont devenus riches et puissants. Leur puissance était si grande que au sein de la Pègre, son père était considéré comme un Dieu. Ce fut une grande préoccupation pour les États-Unis dans la mesure où la CIA avait été envoyé pour éliminer le père de Raul il y a quelques années. Plus tard, on apprendra que le jeune Menendez s'est échappé après l'assassinat de son père quelques années plus tard dans un pick-up (dans les événements de Call of Duty Black Ops : Declassified).


Angola/Rencontre avec Alex MasonModifier

Alimentée par sa colère contre les États-Unis, en 1986, Menendez a commencé à aller en Afganisthan pour créer une armée. Le 2 Juillet 1986, Menendez était en Angola pour fournir les soviétiques en armes à feu et a soutenu le gouvernement communiste de Cuba. Il a également rencontré en même temps Alex Mason et Jason Hudson qui était en Angola pour sauver l'une des victimes de Menendez, qui s'est avéré être Frank Woods, en fait toujours en vie et récemment capturé. Alex Mason s'est introduit dans une cabane, ou Menendez était occupé à transmettre un message radio aux habitants du village proche. Les hommes entraient dans la cabane au moment ou Mason menace Raul, ce dernier arme une grenade qui détruirait largement cet endroit. Mason maîtrise Menendez et lui tire dans le côté droit de son visage, lui faisant des dégâts inévitables à l'œil, le laissant donc différent. Mason échappe à l'explosion et croit à ce moment-là Menendez neutralisé.Mais il en reste seulement blessé

AfghanistanModifier

Mason, Woods et Hudson sont envoyés en Afghanistan pour aider les Moujhaideens face à l'Armée Russe. Ce qu'ils ne savaient pas c'est que les Russes étaient commandés par Lev Kravchenko et que ceux-ci étaient soutenus par Menendez. Ils stoppèrent les Russes et tuèrent Kravchenko comme l'avait prévu Menendez. De plus Mullah Raman était de mèche avec Menendez et celui-ci ordonna à Raman de "faire souffrir" Mason, Woods et Hudson. Menendez avait donc manipulé les Russes et les Américains.

La mort de JosefinaModifier

La CIA, en collaboration avec les Forces de défense panaméennes, veut capturer Menendez au Nicaragua. Menendez a été pris en embuscade dans sa chambre et a tué un garde qui agressait sa sœur. Cependant, il a été mis sous sédation et se réveilla en dehors de la ville. Lorsque Manuel Noriega, le président du Panama l'a libéré, Menendez l'a attaqué et a couru à travers le village pour retrouver Josefina. Quand Raul a atteint la chambre de sa sœur, Frank Woods a jeté une grenade à main dans la chambre de la sœur de Menendez, par inadvertance la tuant et probablement Menendez.

La vengeance de Menendez contre Woods et MasonModifier

Avant l'invasion américaine du Panama en 1989 (Opération Juste Cause), Menendez, avec l'aide de ses infiltrés au sein de la CIA, a enlevé le jeune David Mason et Jason Hudson et les a amenés au Panama, juste avant la mission de son père qui consistait à capturer Noriega, qui sait surement ou se cache Menendez, que les américains savent encore vivant. Autour de ce même temps, Jason Hudson est forcé par Menendez de dire à Woods qu'ils doivent abattre une cible répondant au nom... de Raul Menendez. Woods tira dans la jambe de "Menendez" peu sur de sûr et découvre que ce n'était pas Menendez mais son ami Mason. Pour punir davantage Woods, Menendez tue Hudson. Toujours pas content de sa vengeance, Menendez permet à Woods et au jeune David de vivre et jure qu'en temps voulu il reviendra pour finaliser sa vengeance. Toutefois, si le joueur choisit de tuer la cible en pleine tête, il ne le retrouvera pas vivant après l'exécution/capture de Menendez.

Cordis DieModifier

Au cours des trente prochaines années Menendez se cache dans l'ombre pour continuer son travail et ainsi conclure sa vengeance personnelle. Pour générer des fonds pour son armée privée, Menendez a utilisé la richesse qu'il a obtenu dans le trafic de drogue et la contrebande d'armes, et a investi massivement dans des technologies différentes d'armes.

Le 22 Juin 2014 Menendez a commencé sa "campagne" en créant Cordis Die, un groupe de révolutionnaires sociaux luttant contre les gouvernements, des milliards de partisans décidant de mettre fin aux "corrompus capitalistes". Mais ses disciples ignorent que leur chef était un trafiquant d'armes et un narco-terroriste, Menendez recrute des groupes d'insurgés armés tels que les Mercs et la Milice. Il construit également plusieurs installations militaires secrètes à travers le monde, comme au Myanmar et en Haïti. Il bénéficie également le soutien des services de renseignement comme l'ISI du Pakistan ou la CIA des États-Unis.

En 2025, Cordis Die a un peu plus de deux milliards d'adeptes qui voient Menendez comme leur idole, sur YouTube et Twitter, il a notamment un nombre incroyable d'abonnés. Malgré le large soutien, Menendez est considérée comme une menace pour le gouvernement américain qui le considère comme terroriste le plus dangereux depuis des années et le surveille activement.


CeleriumModifier

Dans le cadre du plan de son plan, il engage Chloe Lynch, une jeune femme à travailler sur un l'élément rare appelée " Celerium " qui fera office de "pirate" informatique, mais beaucoup plus puissant que les "virus" connus. Le plan est de l'utiliser pour pirater les drones contrôlés par les États-Unis et aussi de la Chine et de les retourner contre eux-mêmes . Pour le transformer en une forme plus petite , Menendez embauche Erik Breighner. Une fois mis au point, Menendez stocke la puce dans une boule implanté dans le trou de son œil droit.


Cyber ​​attaque sur la ChineModifier

Pour la plan, il utilise le Celerium pour pirater la Bourse chinoise. Mais le FBI arrive à temps pour empêcher cela, mais le lendemain, le directeur du FBI est retrouvé mort, brulé vif.


Pakistan et KarmaModifier

Menendez et son commandant en second DeFalco visiter le Pakistan pour rencontrer Tian Zhao et le chef de l'ISI, pour obtenir le soutien de la DDC et des éléments incontrôlés au sein de l' ISI. David "Section" Mason, Mike Harper, Javier Salazar et Crosby sont envoyés pour les espionner. Cependant cela fait aussi partie du plan de Menendez, qui prétend avoir conçu l'infiltration. Nos héros sont grillés mais parviennent à s'échapper, notamment après une course poursuite haletante, ou ils rencontrent Zhao qui a refusé en fait de collaborer avec Menendez.


Mason et son équipe sont envoyés pour infiltrer Colossus, une ville haut de gamme exotique établie sur une île. Selon les actions des joueurs, DeFalco peut être tué tout en appréhendant Chloé ou cette dernière peut être capturé et sauvé dans la mission «Seconde Chance». Mais Menendez et Defalco peuvent réussir à se sauver.


Trahison et captureModifier

Au Yémen, Menendez tient une réunion avec ses disciples, notamment avec Farid à ses côtés. Farid est en fait un espion de la CIA (Menendez a l'air de se méfier de lui). Menendez, Farid et DeFalco (si pas tué à ce moment) se réunissent avec leurs partisans, juste à temps avant l'attaque américaine. Menendez et Farid se séparent, Raul disant à Farid de se rejoindre à la Citadelle. Bien que Farid supplie Menendez à la retraite, il tire sur la vaisseau drone Harper. Menendez tend un pistolet à Farid et lui ordonne de tuer Harper...


Résultat 1

Si le joueur décide de suivre les ordres de Menendez et tire Harper, il va mourir et la couverture de Farid restera sûr. Cela permettra d'assurer la survie de Chloé tard dans le jeu et la défaite ultérieure de la cyber attaque de Menendez.

Resultat 2

Le joueur décide de braquer son arme sur Menendez, mais ce dernier se défend et tue d'une balle le pauvre Farid. Harper restera vivant jusqu'à la fin de l'histoire.


Quel que soit le résultat du choix du joueur, Menendez sera ensuite capturé dans son VTOL abattu par David Mason et Salazar .


U.S.S. Obama / Cyber ​​attaqueModifier

Après avoir été fait prisonnier, Raul est emmené à l'USS Barack Obama où il est interrogé, d'abord par Salazar, puis par David. Cependant une attaque de Cordis Die lui permet de s'échapper. Plus tard Menendez (avec ou sans DeFalco) se rendra près de Briggs et de ses soldats. Menendez prend Briggs en otage tandis que Salazar se révèle être avec Menendez, tue ses propres hommes et rejoint le côté de Raul. Cela peut entraîner la mort de Defalco. Menendez se retrouvera en face-a-face avec Briggs, mais Salazar demandera à son maître de ne pas tuer Briggs, ce dernier étant quelqu'un de bien. Le joueur peut choisir de tuer ou de blesser Briggs. Menendez prend ensuite le Celerium et télécharge le virus qui lui permet de prendre le contrôle du système. Menendez fuit, satisfait de lui.


HaïtiModifier

"Je suis un martyr ... pour Cordis Die ».

- -Menendez lorsque celui-ci va se faire exécuter/capturer

Une série de cyber-attaques a lieu dans le monde entier, et Menendez se réfugie dans sa base cachée à Haïti pour contrôler les drones, savant bien qu'il est maintenant l'ennemi public n-1. Le gouvernement des États- Unis (avec ou sans le soutien de la Chine) va lancer une attaque sur la base. Juste avant qu'ils arrivent Menendez tue un Marine et enfile son uniforme et son kit. Il sera ensuite découvert que Menendez ne contrôle pas les drones de la base. Menendez diffuse alors un message vidéo au monde et révèle des choses avant l'autodestruction des drones. Il révèle ainsi le véritable plan de Cordis Die : paralyser les drones américains et laisser vulnérable l'armée militaire des Etats-Unis de sorte que les deux milliards d'adeptes de Cordis Die peuvent se lever et attaquer le gouvernement. Cependant, comme Menendez tente de prendre la fuite, David va tuer Defalco (si pas fait avant) et deux des gardes de Menendez puis le poignarder à sa jambe gauche et l'épaule droite, puis le tenir en joue avec un Tac -45. Menendez dit alors à David de faire de lui un martyr pour Cordis Die, David (le joueur) sera amené à le tuer ou à le capturer .

Effets sur la finModifier

Menendez, qui est le catalyseur pour la plupart des événements en jeu, a évidemment un impact important sur la fin. Principalement, le joueur a le plus grand choix au moment de choisir d'exécuter Menendez ou de le capturer après que David Mason le poignarde à la jambe droite et l'épaule avec un couteau . La décision de sauver Alex Mason (le père de David) aura également un impact comment le jeu se termine .


Plusieurs fins sont donc possibles mais on retiendra surtout la fin ou Alex Mason retrouve son fils et Woods et ou Menendez, exécuté par Mason, avant sa mort, diffuse un deuxième message vidéo à ses admirateurs. On peut voir une image subliminale ou la Maison-blanche est en proie à un incendie...

AnecotesModifier

  • Dans Call of Duty: Black Ops III, Jacob Hendricks et Khalil parlent de Menendez, de ses attaques et leurs répercussions. Khalil dit "Remerciez Menendez" ce qui énèrve Hendricks qui réplique par "Menendez était une sale ordure qui a eu ce qu'il méritait !"

GalerieModifier

Interférence d'un bloqueur de publicité détectée !


Wikia est un site gratuit qui compte sur les revenus de la publicité. L'expérience des lecteurs utilisant des bloqueurs de publicité est différente

Wikia n'est pas accessible si vous avez fait d'autres modifications. Supprimez les règles personnalisées de votre bloqueur de publicité, et la page se chargera comme prévu.

Sur le réseau FANDOM

Wiki au hasard

Wikia

Call of Duty Wiki

Raul Menendez

Talk9
6,905pages on
this wiki
BODtr CODRK BO2topright STtopright Ideafornewfeaturedstar
Raul Menendez
Raul Video BOII
Nickname(s) Odysseus
Cyclops (Old Cyclops by Frank Woods)
Dezzy
Nexus Target
Messiah for the 99%
Appears in Call of Duty: Black Ops II
Rightful King
Call of Duty: Black Ops: Declassified
Call of Duty: Strike Team
Rank Leader
Affiliations Jose Luiz Menendez (father)[1]
Josefina Menendez (sister)
Cordis Die (leader)
Menendez Cartel (leader)
Nationality Nicaraguan
Status Incarcerated/K.I.A./Deceased (player-determined)
Killed By Himself/David Mason (player-determined)
Birth September 5th, 1963[2]
Sex Male
Height 6' 1" (1.85 m)
Weight Approx. 180 lbs
Marks Missing right eye
Grenade wounds ("Pyrrhic Victory" and "Time and Fate")
Knife wound in his leg and shoulder
Hair Brown/Gray (Black in U.S.S. Barack Obama statistics)
Eyes Brown
Race Latino
Death · June 19th, 2025, West Coast of Haiti (aged 61) (player-determined)
· Some time after June 19th, 2026 (aged 62 or 63) (player-determined)
Weapon SPAS-12, AK47, Executioner, FHJ-18 AA, Five-seven, Tac-45, M9 (holstered, US disguise), and any weapon picked up in "Time and Fate"
Equipment Josefina's pendant, Machete, SOG Knife
Timeline Black Ops Timeline
Voice Actor Kamar de los Reyes
Actor Kamar de los Reyes (motion and facial capture)
"Come my friends. 'Tis not too late to seek a newer world."
— Raul Menendez quoting the poem Ulysses.

Raul Menendez is a Nicaraguan political activist and the main antagonist of Call of Duty: Black Ops II and Call of Duty: Strike Team. He is the leader of a terrorist organization named Cordis Die and is an old nemesis of Alex Mason and Frank Woods, and David Mason's archnemisis in 2025. He hacked multiple automated US military drones, using them to attack its domestic major cities, as well as cities throughout China such as Beijing, Shanghai and Hong Kong, eventually destroying the drones after the damage was done. Using the drones, he crippled the US defenses, leaving the US military vulnerable in an attempt to ignite a worldwide uprising. He has a noticeably large scar, and burn mark on his right eye.

Raul is apparently extremely charismatic and influential to a number of people; according to trailers, he is nicknamed "The Messiah of the 99%" and has a subscriber count on his Cordis Die YouTube channel in the millions and views in the hundreds of millions. According to Harper, "He's the most dangerous terrorist since Osama bin Laden." According to Briggs, "People in America... idolize him", despite him being the one responsible for the blood spilled on US Soil.

BiographyEdit

Early lifeEdit

Raul Menendez was born in Nicaragua on September 5th, 1963. According to J-SOC Operative Salazar, Menendez spent the first part of his childhood during his country's tumultuous years in the Nicaraguan Revolution. Seeing firsthand the horrors the American-backed Contras conducted on his fellow countrymen would sow the seeds for his hatred of the west. After the colossal 1972 earthquake of Nicaragua, Raul's family lost most of all they had, including their home. A year after the quake, his only sister Josefina was horribly disfigured and crippled from a fire in a warehouse the two were seeking shelter in. Raul first believed that Josefina was dead and tried to kill himself by slitting his throat with her pendant until she woke and begged him not to. The warehouse was burned down by its American owner for $11,000 in insurance money. This tragedy would further embitter Raul Menendez towards the United States and its capitalist culture.

The Menendez CartelEdit

When Menendez entered into his teenage years both he and his father, Jose Luiz Menendez, started over by selling drugs for easy money. As time passed they became rich and powerful 'legends of Managua'. Their height of power was so great that the Menendez Cartel had an almost god-like status in the criminal underworld. He was also trained by his father to be a professional escape artist. This was of great concern to the United States to the extent that the CIA was sent in to eliminate Raul's father in a U.S. sanctioned assassination, an assassination a young Raul observed and escaped in a pick up truck in the events of Call of Duty Black Ops: Declassified.

Angola/Encounter with Alex MasonEdit

Mason shooting Menendez BOII

Mason shooting Menendez in the face.

Fueled by his anger for the U.S., in 1986, Menendez began to run guns into Afghanistan for his own private army. On July 2, 1986, Menendez was in Angola supplying the Soviet backed Communist government, the MPLA, with arms. It was also the same time in which Alex Mason and Jason Hudson were in Angola to rescue one of Menendez’s victims, the recently captured Frank Woods. Alex Mason ran into Menendez after breaking into his hut, while the gun runner was talking on his radio. As his men entered the hut, Menendez wrestled with Mason after pulling a grenade. Mason overpowered Menendez and shot him in the right side of his face, destroying his eye and leaving him permanently disfigured. Mason then escaped the hut as the grenade exploded.

AfghanistanEdit

This drew the attention of the CIA. Later in the year, the CIA authorizes a strike against Menendez, now making a healthy profit running arms across Soviet-occupied Afghanistan, sending in Alex Mason, Frank Woods, and Jason Hudson to investigate. Unbeknownst to the trio, the leader of the Mujahideen whom they considered their ally, Mullah Rahman, was one of many in which secretly worked for Menendez. It was this same time in which Menendez also dealt with Lev Kravchenko, who sold the arms dealer Soviet weapons. Sending the arms into third world countries such as Cuba and Angola, Menendez began to fund and arm many anti-Western rebellions and revolutions in the hope to bring down corrupt capitalist nations. 

Josefina's deathEdit

The CIA, in conjunction with the Panamanian Defense Forces, conducted a raid on Menendez’s compound in Nicaragua. Menendez was ambushed in his room but broke free once he saw a guard hurting his sister. However, he was sedated and awoke outside the compound. When Manuel Noriega freed him, Menendez attacked him and ran through the compound to find Josefina. When Raul reached his sister's room, Frank Woods throws a hand grenade into Menendez’s sister’s room, killing her and presumably Menendez himself.

Revenge/Death of Mason and HudsonEdit

Absolute Loss BOII

Menendez tormenting Woods about Mason and Hudson's death.

However, unknown to the U.S. or the CIA, the corrupt Noriega made a deal with Menendez, offering him sanctuary in Panama. Before the U.S. invasion of Panama in 1989, Menendez, with the help of his moles within the CIA, kidnapped the young David Mason and brought him to Panama just ahead of the elder Mason’s mission to capture Noriega. Menendez’s men also kidnap Jason Hudson and force him to relay false information to Frank Woods, which includes an order to kill what was believed to be Menendez. After taking the shot, the man shot was not Menendez but instead Alex Mason. To further punish the now grief-strickened Woods, Menendez kills Hudson. Still not content with his revenge, Menendez allows Woods and the young David to live and vows that in due time he will return to finalize his revenge. However if the player chooses to shoot Mason in anywhere but the head, he will turn up alive years later after Menendez' execution or capture (player-determined).

Cordis Die/Wanted TerroristEdit

During the course of the next thirty years Menendez hides in the shadows, working to gather the men and resources needed to begin his world revolution. To generate funds for his private army, Menendez used the wealth he made in drug trafficking and weapons smuggling, and invested heavily in various weapons technology, including Tacitus Corporation.

On June 22, 2014, Menendez began his campaign by creating Cordis Die; a social networking group drawing in billions of followers to his cause of ending the "corrupt capitalist 1% nations", using the alias Odysseus. With his followers unaware that their leader was an arms smuggler and a narco-terrorist, Menendez recruits armed insurgent groups such as the Mercs and the Yemeni Militia. He also builds several secret military facilities all around the world, such as in Myanmar and Haiti.

By 2025, Cordis Die has just over two billion followers who see Menendnez as their savior and idol, YouTube, Twitter and various other sites have very large subscriber counts. Despite the large support, Menendez is seen as a threat to the U.S. government who brand him the most dangerous terrorist since Osama bin-Laden and have him under constant surveillance.

CeleriumEdit

As part of Menendez's plan, he hires Chloe Lynch to develop a new rare earth element called "Celerium" which has more processing power than the entire U.S. military infrastructure. The plan is to use it to hack into the drones controlled by the USA and China and to turn them against their respective cites. To process it into a smaller form, Menendez hires Erik Breighner. Once developed, Menendez stores the chip in a fake eye ball where his right eye used to be.

Cyber Attack on the Chinese Stock MarketEdit

As part of Menendez's plan to wipe out both America and China, he uses the Celerium worm to hack the Chinese Stock Market and send it into depression. The blame however is pinned on the United States Government, though some people, like Woods, knew better than to believe this. After this Menendez's page is shut down, however the next day the director of the FBI is found dead. The cause of death: being burned alive.

Pakistan and KarmaEdit

Menendez and his second in command DeFalco visit Pakistan to meet up with Tian Zhao and the ISI Leader, to gain support of the SDC and rogue elements within the ISI. David "Section" Mason, Mike Harper, Javier Salazar and Crosby are sent in to spy on him. However, this is also part of Menendez's plan, who claims to have engineered the infiltration. Menendez meets with DeFalco about Chloe and assigns DeFalco to find and capture her. After doing so Menendez blows the Americans' cover but they are able to escape.

Mason and his team are sent to infiltrate Colossus, a high-end exotic island getaway, to find out about Chloe and her connection to Menendez's plans. Depending on the players actions, DeFalco can be killed while apprehending Chloe or she can be captured and rescued in the mission "Second Chance" in which DeFalco will survive to be with Menendez once more.

Betrayal and captureEdit

In Yemen, Menendez holds a meeting with his followers with Farid at his side. Farid, unknown to Menendez at this point, is a spy for the CIA (though Menendez is suspicious of him). Menendez, Farid and DeFalco (if not killed at this point) stand assembled with their followers just in time for the American attack. Menendez and Farid split up and regroup at the citadel. Though Farid begs Menendez to retreat he instead shoots down Harper's VTOL and takes him prisoner. Though Harper refuses to state the name of the traitor, Menendez hands a gun to Farid and orders him to kill Harper:

If the player decides to follow Menendez's orders and shoots Harper then he will die and Farid's cover will remain safe. This will ensure Chloe's survival later in the game and subsequent defeat of Menendez's cyber attack.

If the player decides to shoot Menendez instead then he will stop him and shoots Farid in the chest before shooting him in the head and killing him. This will doom Chloe to her demise and ultimately Woods (if Menendez is captured), however Harper will survive.

Whatever the outcome of the player's choice, Menendez will then be captured in his downed VTOL by David Mason and Salazar. Menendez then thanks David and asks him to help seek a newer world.

U.S.S. Obama/Cyber attack beginsEdit

After being taken prisoner, Raul is taken to the U.S.S. Obama where he is interrogated, first by Salazar and then by Mason. However an attack from Cordis Die allows him to escape. Later Menendez (with or without DeFalco) will head to the bridge as Admiral Briggs was rebooting the system. Menendez takes Briggs hostage while Salazar shows his true colors, betrays his own men and joins Raul's side. This may or may not result in DeFalco and Chloe's deaths (this is player determined). Menendez will then have Briggs at gun point but Salazar requests that he not kill him but shoot him in the leg. The player can either choose to kill Briggs or wound him or do nothing. Menendez then takes out his fake eye ball and uploads his virus which allows him to take control of the system. Menendez then makes his escape by means of a jet.

If the player decides to shoot Briggs in the leg, and has completed the strike force missions and killed Tian Zhao, then Briggs will live to re-activate the Obama's defenses until the Chinese show up and save the Obama.

If the player decides to kill Briggs, or hasn't completed the strike force missions or didn't kill Zhao then the Obama will be destroyed.

Haiti/Final standEdit

"Martyr me...for Cordis Die."
— Menendez to Section when the latter has him at gunpoint.

As a series of cyber attacks around the world takes place, Menendez will take refuge in his hidden base in Haiti to control the drones. The US government (with or without support from the Chinese government) will launch an attack on the base. Just before they reach him however, Menendez kills a Marine and puts on his uniform and kit. It will then be discovered that Menendez isn't controlling the drones from the base. Menendez then broadcasts a message to the world and shows various cites about to be attacked before he self-destructs the drones before revealing Cordis Die's true plan: cripple US drones and leave its military vulnerable so the two billion followers of Cordis Die can rise up and attack the government. However as Menendez tries to make his escape, David will slide down to him, stab his left leg and right shoulder and then hold him at gunpoint with Menendez' Tac-45. Menendez then tells David to make him a martyr for Cordis Die, at which point Mason either shoots or captures him.

If the player spares Menendez then he will be taken outside and put into US custody with Raul telling David to study Ulysses and be ready for his escape one year from now. If Harper is alive at this point then he will say that he would have just shot him.

If the player shoots Menendez then he will die. If Harper is still alive then he will express concern that David was going to let him live. Additionally, a YouTube video will appear revealing Menendez' death, angering Cordis Die's followers, resulting in widespread rioting in Washington D.C. and the White House being burned down.

Effect on the EndingEdit

Menendez, being the catalyst for most of the events in game, obviously has a large impact on the ending. Primarily, the player has the greatest choice when choosing to execute Menendez or capture him after David Mason stabs him in the right leg and shoulder with a knife. The decision to save Alex Mason will also impact how the game ends.

Chloe survives, Menendez survives
If Chloe is alive when Menendez is captured then she will find Menendez' escape plan by means of a celerium worm and disable it, foiling Menendez' escape plan. A year after she will appear on a talk show where an enraged Menendez watching will bash his head against the T.V. multiple times before just laughing it off.

Menendez dies
If Menendez is simply shot by David then a video triggered to play upon his death will activate and cause mass anger among the Cordis Die followers.

Chloe dies, Menendez survives (and dies)
If Chloe is dead when Menendez is captured then Raul will make good on his word and escape prison one year after his capture and visit Woods at The Vault. Once there he briefly converses with Woods about his sister before stabbing Woods in the neck with her pendent (just like he killed Hudson 37 years prior) and lay his body on the bed. Menendez is next seen at his sister's graveyard site where he will dig up her remains before dousing himself with gasoline and lighting himself on fire with a matchstick, killing himself.

GalleryEdit

QuotesEdit

Main article: Raul Menendez/Quotes

TriviaEdit

  • Menendez appears alongside Frank Woods in the music video for the song Carry On by Avenged Sevenfold, which is seen after the end credits.
    • On the back of his shirt it shows the dates and locations of concerts, which reference the locations and dates of the 2025 missions. 
  • Menendez is multilingual, as he speaks Spanish, Russian and English.
  • Menendez was ranked #1 on GameInformer's list of top 10 villain's of 2012.
  • When Menendez is about to kill Woods,, he appears to have his right eye back.
  • If Graphic Content Filter is enabled, and if the player gets the ending where Chloe lives and Menendez is captured, when he slams his head on the TV in his prison cell, Menendez's entire body, including his face, is censored.
  • Ironically, Cordis Die has an agenda against the rich, but Menendez is rich himself.
  • Menendez can take extremely high damage, same as a player-controlled juggernaut, does massive damage with his machete as he can behead an enemy, his shotgun, a SPAS-12, has a capacity of 16 rounds and he reloads it almost instantly, and can run faster than other playable characters. This happens in the mission Time and Fate, when he tries to save his sister Josefina.

ReferencesEdit

  1. Opening cutscene to "Old Wounds."
  2. File:U.S.S. Barack Obama statistics BOII.png


Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki